ECC's Gregory named to Big 30 Roster

Bob Parana - Staff Writer

Elk County Catholic Crusaders Leo Gregory and John Wittman and Forest Cressley of St. Marys were among the players announced to the Big 30 Charities Classic Pennsylvania squad in the latest release issued by the Big 30 Committee. David Wheaton of Otto-Eldred will also be joining the PA team. The 47th Big 30 Charities Classic is scheduled to be played Aug. 1 at Bradford’s Parkway Field. Organizers are continuing with their plans despite the COVID-19 pandemic. Gregory and Wittman will be joining teammates Jered Emmert, Stephen Bobby, and Anthony Gerg, and Cressley joins fellow Dutch Jake Walter and Gage Burford. Wheaton is the third Otto-Eldred player named to the 43-man roster. Gregory (6”1”, 195-pounds), was named to the 2019 District 9 Small School South Division All-Star team at Tight End. He will also play Defensive End in the all-star game. The three-time football and basketball letterman was awarded the Bill Gapinski Award for excellence on the gridiron. He was also named to the basketball All-Tournament team at the annual Elk County Holiday tourney. According to the Big 30 release, his favorite memories are scoring his first offensive and defensive touchdowns as a sophomore. He said he is honored to be representing ECC and playing one final game with his fellow seniors. Gregory plans to enter college and major in Electrical Engineering. His hobbies include fishing, hunting, hoops, and volleyball. The Pittsburgh Steelers are his favorite football team and his favorite player is JuJu Smith-Schuster. Proceeds from the annual game are donated to individuals in need and charitable organizations in the Pennsylvania counties of McKean, Elk, Cameron, Potter and Warren, and Allegany, Cattaraugus, and Chautautauqua counties in New York. Ridgway Head Coach Mark Heindl and his assistants Mickey Delhunty, Rick Viglione, Jack Kifer, and Tony Difillipi will coach the PA squad. Five Elkers have been announced to the team thus far. They include Robert Briggs, Greg Simon, Hayden Haupright, Paul Gresco, and Jake Wickett. More Ridgway players will be announced in the coming weeks.