Megan Rohr named to soccer all-star team

Bob Parana - Staff Writer

Junior Megan Rohr is a key to the rebuilding of the Lady Elkers soccer program. She was recently named to the UAVSL North All-Star team.

Rohr who is also a member of the Johnsonburg High School marching band was a bright spot for Ridgway which continues to rebuild after winning a district title and finishing second in 2017 and 2018.

Since then the Lady Elkers have struggled on the scoreboard but have not lacked effort. Rohr was one of seven juniors on the team along with Gina Gerg, Abby MacAfee, Hannah Kemmer, Rae Bevacqua, Kelsey Heindl, and Payton Delhunty. Other underclassmen include sophomores Ella Lindberg, Emma Beinkowski, Lexi Hoffman, Brooklyn Jackson, and Emma Myers, and freshman Libby Kemmer who all gained valuable experience. Haylee Zimmerman and Kylie Earl were the only seniors on the 2020 roster.

Ridgway head coach Greg Maddalena was thrilled with the play of Rohr this past season. “She’s a heck of a goalie. I think one of the best in the area. We’re a young team and having her coming back at that position is going to help as we continue rebuilding,” he said after the team’s final game. It was Rohr’s first full season at the position.

Joining Rohr on the all-star team are Elk County Catholic senior mid-fielders Gina Carnovale and Kara VanEerden, St. Marys seniors Kyla Johnson (wing), Katherine Garverick (center defender), Jade Reynolds (center defender), and Carlee Ginther (forward), Kane senior Jessica Buhl (defender), and Port Allegany seniors Gracie Archer (wing) and Bree Garzel (mid-fielder), and sophomore Evin Stauffer (striker).